This Too Shall Pass – Deleting My Facebook Account

Screen Shot 2014-03-15 at 10.18.57 AMI’m killing my Facebook account.

And with it, I’m severing that company’s ability to collect data on my web habits, whereabouts, social connections (including off-Facebook connections) and financial transactions.

Apparently, I’ll also be reducing my exposure to NSA malware, as Mark Zuckerberg revealed in a public thrashing of Obama and the intelligence services that have been spreading malware through imposter Facebook sites.

This really won’t be that hard. Last year, I began experimenting with not using the social network, just to see how that was. This impulse was born from a general annoyance about FB’s murky privacy policies and the general tone of content on FB which had became increasingly irrelevant to my real social connections with people. (Remember when people started to appreciate that group emails were rude and began with the lines, “sorry for the group email!”…That’s how Facebook seems to me now, without the apologetic preface.)

BTW, if you’ve got your own suspicions about Facebook, the Electronic Frontier Foundation has put together a great timeline of Facebook’s shifting privacy policies. Reading their timeline is a great way to get your head around how free Internet services (FB, Gmail, etc.) are really about hooking you in with very clear and considered privacy policies that are planned to be revoked once they’ve got you dependent on them…or at least that’s how the timeline suggests this business model works.

Of course, deleting my Facebook account won’t be without costs.

If you’ve been a rolling stone like me, you have friends in many far-flung places. Facebook did make those connections feel stronger, so that aspect will be missed. But I’m online and quite findable, so if my pals from Japan or Europe want to find me, they only need know my name.

It turns out that completely deleting your account is a two-week process, described quite well on Digital Trends. The trick is that once you delete your account, you cannot log in for two weeks, or your account will be reactivated. That means you should first delete all apps from phones, tablets, etc. before deleting your account. You should probably delete your cookies too, just to be sure you don’t inadvertently reactivate it by triggering all those FB web beacons that mine the Interwebs.

Anyway, I’ll give my FB contacts a few days to run across my post and then I’ll zap it for good.

Better living through anonymity!

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s