Back to Firefox – Update on Sync

This goes out to all you paraoid netizens out there, and if you’re not one, you should be…

As a follow-up to my last post on moving off Chrome and back to Firefox for privacy and security reasons, I wanted to document that I gave Firefox Sync a closer look.

Mozilla, the folks that develop Firefox, has a very detailed information page on Firefox Sync, but to sum up, this feature allows one to share add-ons, bookmarks, passwords, preferences, history and tabs across all your computers and other devices.

Firefox Sync PreferencesDouble-plus-good: you can decide what to sync and what not to. Because I’m trying to be extra careful with my data, I opted for syncing only my add-ons, bookmarks and preferences. One important note on syncing add-ons, this will install your add-ons across your devices, but not necessarily configure them, so you might have to do that part manually.

If you opt to sync your history, it will do so up to 60 days.

Reading over the security details of Firefox Sync, it seems like you’re in pretty good hands since sync uses an encryption key. I consider passwords and history going beyond my tolerance threshold, but these are likely pretty secure for most folks. My rule is to assume that hackers access my sync data: What can I live with leaking out to the public?

Add-ons? okay
Bookmarks? I guess so.
History? Not really
Passwords? Are you kidding?

When I set up sync, I also added Firefox as my default phone browser which I find no problems with yet and it’s nice to know that I’m surfing as privately on Android as on OSX.

Leave a Reply

